Local School Council

Upcoming Dates:
October 5th
November 2nd
December 7th
January 11th
March 7th
April 11th
May 9th

*no meeting for February

Who Serves on a School Council?
School councils are comprised of a minimum of seven council members:
·         The principal
·         At least two certificated teachers elected by the teachers
·         A number of parents elected by the parents, so that parents make up a majority of the council. At least 2 parents must be businesspersons
·         Other members as specified in the council's bylaws

Council members serve a term of two years, or for a term specified in the council's bylaws.

What are the Roles and Responsibilities of Council Members?
All members of the School Council must:

·         Maintain a school-wide perspective on issues, 
·         Regularly participate in council meetings, 
·         Participate in information and training programs, 
·         Act as a link between the school council and the community, 
·         Encourage the participation of parents and others within the school community, and
·         Work to improve student achievement and performance. 

Current School Council Members:
Kimberly Montville, Chairman
Heidi Davis, Secretary
Cathy Foretic
Vanessa Gordon
Otto Goyco
Teresa Hagelthorn
Lisa Hunter
Rita Lang
Leah Curtright
Amy Klem
Johnny Barnard