Academics » Testing



There are two primary forms of testing at Buford High School:

Benchmark Testing and Standardized Testing. 

Benchmark Testing occurs at the end of every six weeks. In each class, Benchmark 1 is worth 100 points, Benchmark 2 is worth 200 points, and Benchmark 3 (a.k.a. the final exam) is worth 600 points. Benchmark assessments are both comprehensive and cumulative. 

There are three types of standardized testing administered at Buford High School. 

  • Students in grades 9-11 take the PSAT in October of each year. 
  • Students in Advanced Placement (AP) courses take AP Exams each May.
  • Students in any of the courses with a State of Georgia End-of-Course Exam, also known as Georgia Milestones, take those exams in May. The four courses this applies to at Buford High School include: 
    • American Literature (11th Grade Language Arts)
    • United States History
    • Biology
    • Coordinate Algebra